control for all surveying and mapping in Canada. It produces the base maps used in the development of Canada's natural resources, conducts all the charting of Canada's coastal and inland waters, and issues the official Canadian sea and air navigation charts. The Department is under the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys and is divided into five branches: the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories, and the Geographical Branch. The Mineral Resources Division, a unit of head office, gives its whole attention to matters concerned with the economics of mineral resources development.

The Department administers the Explosives Act which regulates the manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which

provides cost-aid to the Canadian gold mining industry.

Boards and Commissions are: Canadian Board on Geographical Names; Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; International Boundary Commission and Interprovincial Boundary Commissions.

Department of National Defence.—The Department of National Defence was established on Jan. 1, 1923, by the Department of National Defence Act, 1922, and was an amalgamation of the Department of Militia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board. The Department and the Canadian Forces (the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force) now operate under the National Defence Act, 1950 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 184).

In 1940 additional Ministers for Naval and Air Services were appointed and the Department was organized under a Minister of National Defence and two additional Ministers so that there was a Minister and staff for each of the Armed Services. Upon demobilization of the wartime Forces the appointment of Ministers of National Defence for Naval Services and Air Services ceased, and the Armed Forces were, in 1946, again administered by the Minister of National Defence without additional Ministers. Under the National Defence Act the Canadian Forces are being administered solely by the Minister of National Defence, the appointment of an Associate Minister of National Defence remaining vacant.

The Defence Research Board, created in 1947 to carry out research relating to national defence and to advise the Minister on all relevant matters of a scientific or technical nature, now functions under the National Defence Act. The Chairman of the Board has a status equivalent to that of

a Chief of Staff of one of the Canadian Forces.

Department of National Health and Welfare.—This Department was established in October 1944 under the authority of the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 74). The Department, headed by the Minister of National Health and Welfare, is composed of three branches—Health, Welfare, and Administration—and is administered through two Deputy Ministers.

The Health Branch is divided into three directorates—Health Services, Food and Drugs, and Indian Health Services. It has 14 Divisions active in certain public health fields divided into five main groups—Medical Advisory, Research Development and International Health, Environmental Health, Health Insurance, and Health Grants Administration—each of which is headed

by a Principal Medical Officer.

The Welfare Branch is made up of the Divisions of Family Allowances and Old Age Security, Old Age Assistance, and Blind and Disabled Persons Allowances. The Department is also responsible for federal civil defence planning, with the Civil Defence Co-ordinator reporting to both Deputy Ministers. The Administration Branch includes divisions where activities cover both health and welfare fields, such as research, information, legal and library services, as well as administrative, personnel and purchasing and supply services.

National Film Board.—The National Film Board was established in 1939 and the National Film Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 185) provides for a Board of Governors of nine members—a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governer in Council, who is Chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through a designated Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration). The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and in particular films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations".

National Library.—As a result of the National Library Act proclaimed Jan. 1, 1953, the National Library superseded the Canadian Bibliographic Centre. It continues to publish Canadiana, a monthly list of new publications relating to Canada, with a yearly cumulation. The Library also publishes other bibliographies. Its Reference Division maintains the National Union Catalogue which embodies the catalogues of the major libraries in the ten provinces and is a key to the book collections in the whole country. The National Librarian reports to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Department of National Revenue.—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of National Revenue and, under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.